Month: July 2003

  • The Life of Pirates

    A nice website that tries to explain the difference between pirates, privateers, buccaneers, and . . . other *men of the sea.

    http://www.debbiescaribbeanresortreviews.com/pirate.html


    Computer games are stupid. But Matt loves them. So we bought an X-Box and naturally, after my exam, I went out and bought “Pirates of the Caribbean”. I am really impressed with the graphics on the water. Beautiful sailboats, and beautiful sunsets. However, once one gets far enough in the game, it keeps telling the player that the disk is “dirty or damaged.” So, aside from the freezes, it’s a gorgeous piece of art. (Programming is an art, ya know. Well, *some* of it is, anyway. I liken “Legend of Zelda” to a Maxfield Parrish painting, and Windows programs to Picassos.)

    Still, it doesn’t beat remote-control sailboat racing. Maybe someday.


  • Pirates of the Caribbean Developed Swinging Masts!

    M
    att convinced me to go see the movie “Pirates of the Caribbean” the other day, even though I knew it wouldn’t really be a sailing movie. It was pretty good, and I was impressed with some of the scenes. I looked up Zoe Saldana on imdb.com because I’m kind of a fan of hers. (If there were a KIASU International Organization, she would probably be a key member.) And I found this quote.



    Will Turner: In a fair fight, I would’ve killed you!
    [After Turner gets hit with the swinging mast and is dangling over the ocean]
    Jack Sparrow: That’s hardly an incentive for me to fight fair, now, is it?

    from http://us.imdb.com/Quotes?0325980



    It was obviously posted by someone who doesn’t sail. . . ., but it makes for amusing imagery. (If you don’t see what’s wrong with that quote, you shouldn’t call yourself a sailor.)


    from http://www.boattalk.com/sailboatparts.htm


    The best sailing scenes in any movie I’ve seen have got to be from the movie “Wind“. Unfortunately, the love story in this movie is pretty cheeeezy. It does have a very nice scene where Will Parker (Matthew Modine) explains to someone how to win a sailboat race. And Jennifer Grey (pre-nosejob, i.e. when she was cuter, altho Matt disagrees) does a great job cooking soup as Kate Bass.



    The second best sailing scenes from a movie I’ve seen is an early one directed by Roman Polanski (who also did “Chinatown”). “Knife in the Water” is always touted as a psychological thriller, but I really didn’t find anything scary about it. It is just a (black and white) movie about a couple who sails together, and a hitchhiker who tags along for the ride.


    It just kills me when people talk about sailing movies and mention “Dead Calm”. Nicole Kidman does a great job, but that movie has hardly any sailing scenes in it. It did however give a very good impression of what it’s like to sail our club boats.

    I did give in and see “Finding Nemo”, and was pleasantly surprised to see animated sailboats. Yeah, that’s all I look for in movies. If I say “movies” and “sailboats” enough times, perhaps a webcrawler will notice it and relay feedback to advertising agencies that there is a market for them. Movies with sailing! Movies with sailboats! Movies with sailors! Movies with Zoe Saldana!

  • Cutty Sark
    image from http://www.cutty-sark.co.uk

    History of Cutty Sark Scotch Whiskey

    Cutty Sark — Gaelic for “Short Shirt”

    On my desk is a bottle of Cutty Sark. It’s in a little corner of the desk, next to something else that’s glass. I noticed that the level of my Cutty Sark was lower than before. I asked Matt, “Did you drink my Cutty Sark?” He said, “No.” So I spent some time wondering, if was I sleepwalking these days? Or was someone sneaking into the house to take drams of my scotch?

    Finally, after much paranoid musing on my part, Matt admits, “Oh yeah! I did have some, last week, I think!”

    I hope he did, because the idea of either sleepwalking, or having unknown visitors (the kind that would sneak some scotch but not take my puter) kinda freaked me.

    If you haven’t ever noticed, there’s a pretty clipper ship on bottles of Cutty Sark. Cutty Sark Scots Whiskey was created in the 1920′s, and named after an actual tea clipper ship.

    The Cutty Sark clipper ship was designed by Hercules Linton and built by Scott & Linton at Dumbarton in 1869 for “Old White Hat” Jock Willis of London at a cost of 21 pounds/ton. She still exists, and is in the process of being restored.

    cuttysark_by_Frederick_Tudgay-1872
    Currently docked and in the process of restoration
    http://www.cuttysark.org.uk

    Her dimensions are 212’5″ x 36’0″ x 21’0″ and tonnage 963 GRT, 921 NRT, and 892 tons under deck.

    She was one of the last true tea clipper ships, used to transport tea from China to London. However, when steam ships took over that role, she was sold and sent down to Australia to be a wool-shipping ship.

    Some of her record times and other events:


    1879
    September 23 – January 12
    Sailed from Manila to New York in 111 days.

    1880
    September 5
    Captain Wallace committed suicide on voyage Anjer to Yokohama.

    1887
    March 26
    Sailed from Sydney to London in 72 days

    (excerpts from http://pc-78-120.udac.se:8001/WWW/Nautica/Ships/Clippers/Cutty_Sark(1869).html

    The words “Cutty Sark” are Gaelic for “Short Shirt”, and became famous because of a poem by Robert Burns called Tam O’ Shanter, about a drunk old man who winds up in the middle of a witches’ dance. He cries out to one of the witches in a short shirt, “Weel done, cutty sark!” And then, next thing he knows, there’s a whole bunch of witches and warlocks chasing him very fast.




    “Tam O’ Shanter”
    explained by Lynnette Fitch

    In ‘Tam O’ Shanter’, the main character, Tam, is an old boozer with a nagging shrew of a wife. One night after a bout of drinking with his cronies, Tam makes his way home on his trusty horse, Meg. Upon approaching auld Alloway Kirk, the haunted church ruin near his home, Tam is shocked to discover a witches’ ceilidh taking place upon the premises; all manner of ghouls and demons are taking part, and the devil himself is present playing bagpipes. Despite Meg’s extreme unease, Tam imprudently moves closer to watch because he has caught sight of Nan, a comely young witch in a short chemise, or cutty sark in Scots dialect, who is very enthusiastically participating in the vigorous Celtic dances (hornpipes, jigs, reels, and strathspeys). The physical repulsiveness of the rest of the coven is a negative statement about female sexuality in general. Tam is so absorbed in watching Nan’s athletic display that he forgets himself and roars out, “Weel done, Cutty Sark!” in approval and appreciation of Nan’s dancing, thus alerting the forces of evil of his presence. They immediately begin to pursue Tam who, on Meg, is now fleeing for his life. Tam spurs Meg on towards the auld Brig O’ Doon, or old bridge over the river Doon, because legend has it that witches cannot cross running water. Nan has her hand on Meg’s rump and is reaching forward to pull Tam off the horse when Meg gives one last mighty leap onto the bridge, leaving Nan with only the horse’s tail in her clutches on the far side. The poem ends with a brilliantly hilarious verse about the danger to men of liquor and lust:

    Now, wha’ this tale o’ truth shall read
    Ilk man, and mother’s son, take heed:
    Whene’er to drink you are inclin’d,
    Or cutty sarks rin in your mind,
    Think! Ye may buy the joys o’er dear;
    Remember Tam O’ Shanter’s mare.


    from
    http://www.pulli.com/lynnette/ucdthesis/cutty_sark.html

  • Gather Ye Rosebuds

    I think I’m glowing today. Someone grab a geiger counter! Yesterday, Matt and I went sailing again. Hee hee! We took out my little capsizeable boat to the bigger lake that’s about 45 minutes away. The nuclear power plant reservoir. “NEWK-yoo-ler. It’s pronounced NEWK-yoo-ler,” Matt kept saying (it’s from a Simpsons episode). The clouds in the sky were all Simpsons-episode clouds too. It was a great day for sailing.

    And we didn’t capsize!!! But the wind was great!!! It must have been around 15-20 mph, only this time, there weren’t any tornado watches going on. There were tiny whitecaps. I was surprised the wind was this good, because we’d had a stretch of days where the trees were all waving at me, telling me “GO SAILING! GO SAILING NOW!” And I kept telling them, “I can’t!!! Not today!” So I was certain that yesterday, the wind would die down to NOTHING. I was wrong!

    We had been out there practicing gybes for about 2 hours when we decided to go back to the dock for a break. At the dock, there were some people lowering this beautiful red-orange boat into the water. It was a pretty boat, sleek and small. It’s shape reminded me of a Buccaneer or a Vagabond 14. It had a jib and a mainsail that they were hoisting, and they seemed to be fighting a little about how to rig it.

    Well, because I’m nosey, I went over and asked them what kind of boat it was. I was told it was a Rebel. And indeed, when they hoisted the mainsail, on the top was a big R with a sword under it. Every type of sailboat has a characteristic logo which is on the sail (if it came from the manufacturer). Pretty little thing! As they sailed away, the lady told me, “We haven’t done this in a long time! I got this as a wedding present, and we haven’t sailed it for 30 years!” Matt yelled, “I’m learning too! So watch out for me!”

    Matt and I guessed that the lady was at least 45-50 years old. So imagine, if you can, getting a beautiful boat like that as a fricking wedding present and not getting to sail it for 30 years!!?!??!??? EEGADS! Maybe it was because of time constraints. Life in general. The need to make a living. Taking care of kids. Who knows? But waiting 30 years to sail in a wedding present????? Yike! I was happy for them. We watched them sail, and they were totally into it. It was great! I hope they get more time to sail now that the kids are gone.

    r12

    More info about Rebels

    Kitten update: Freebie has had his distemper booster and his leukemia vaccinations. His rabies are due in about 2 weeks, right before I leave for California. He still has some bald patches on his tail from ringworm, but it’s growing in slowly. No more roundworms in his hairballs! :) He is attacking everything and everyone, and when I brought him to the vet, the lady said he gets a “CAUTION” warning on his chart. I tell ya, that curse is coming true!!! Eek!

    Sheabyshea also found a little kitten that was probably unadoptable as well.

  • Free Diving


    A French article about Audrey and Pipin


    Y
    esterday I found a great little niche to study in the university’s Fine Arts Center. The patrons’ bathrooms were flooded because of some kind of reconstruction going on, so I went downstairs to use some of the bathrooms in the dressing rooms. And because I’m so nosey, I found a lovely bunch of pictures in front of an opera instructor’s office. AND, a copy of the June 13, 2003 issue of Sports Illustrated.

    On the cover is a picture of a couple dancing underwater. The title on it is “The Deadly Dive”.

    Sports Illustrated rarely talks about anything other than football, basketball, and baseball in any depth (no pun intended). (I was surprised they covered the America’s Cup as much as they did.) So I paused to read about this “Deadly Dive.”

    It was about a freediver from Cuba who met and married a woman who also learned to free dive, and together they tried to beat the world’s record for free diving (that’s diving without any breathing equipment other than what God gave you). Well, his wife died on one of her record attempts. Something about the bag not inflating to bring her back to the surface. Many people were angry at the husband for not taking more precautions during the dive.

    I love snorkeling. I like SCUBA diving too. I do it because I like the view! And the three-dimensional freedom of motion. Free diving though is not something I aspire to do. Yet, I do enjoy bluewater sailing, and some might consider that dangerous as well. And yes, I always tell people I sail with to wear their lifejackets because you never know when you might accidentally jibe and the boom performs its namesake. You can’t swim when you’re unconscious. But sometimes, I take my lifejacket off too.

    In medical school, we’re taught to ask every patient questions about their medical history. It sounds dumb, but we’re supposed to ask every patient whether or not they wear their seatbelts. It’s supposed to give us an idea about their “risk-taking behavior”. (It also helps to assess whether they might have abdominal injuries if they were in a car accident.) I always wear my seatbelt (except when I go to the drive-through ATM because I can’t reach the buttons with my seatbelt on), so I was really shocked when about 20% of my patients responded that they don’t wear their seatbelt. They might have been joking with me, but I don’t think so.

    It’s funny how people criticize other people for taking risks (free diving without emergency intubation equipment on the boat, free diving without backup ascension equipment), but they don’t wear their seatbelts. To one it’s a deadly risk, to the other it’s just the way life is lived.

    Jso’s got some cool pictures from a SCUBA dive.



    Audrey Mestre, marine biologist, artist, and world champion freediver
    8/11/74 – 10/12/02




  • Plucky Lady

    I really admire people who build their own sailboats. If you really know what you want, and you can’t find anyone who makes it, it’s the only thing to do. Matt would kill me if I told him I wanted to build a steel cutter ship. But that’s what this couple did. I am amazed they stayed married! I guess sandblasting and welding brings some couples closer together.

    It’s a gorgeous ship. The gaff rig is pretty, but. . . what would it look like with a junk rig? Heh. Hey, Matt, let’s go to Lowe’s and get 5000 kg of steel!!

    Luc explains on his website why he chose a fixed keel over a swing keel, and he makes some pretty good arguments. (West Wight Potters and similar boats are nice around our shallow Midwestern lakes because of their retractable keel and shallow draft.) If an ocean-going vessel is what you’re looking for, the fixed keel is not a disadvantage and may actually save you from doing stupid things close to shore!

    His wife Debbie also has some practical advice and recipes for cooking at sea without refrigeration or ovens. Bread in a frying pan! Yum!

    Cooking at sea is not always a pleasure especially when you are only two on board and you cannot trust the other one in the galley, so if you want to survive there is only one thing to do, get down to work.

    I love cooking and my husband loves eating. We don’t use our refrigerator at sea since on a sailboat there is never enough energy to spare.

    During our trip our lockers were filled with canned food but we hate to eat that stuff. Anyway you would be surprised at the great meals that you can make with it, all you have to do is be creative.

    When I was on watch at night I was always trying to figure out what to do with all the cans in our lockers.

    Before we left for our trip I read all the books about cooking at sea and we left our home port with a big stock of food. A year later we still had a very big stock of food left over. It’s very easy to write a book on how to cook at sea when you have never been out to know what you are talking about. The first book that I bought on what to cook at sea is great. The recipes sounds delicious but there is a problem, you need to have a freezer to keep your meat, you need to have tons of different spices, a cold storage for your vegetables and you need to have a big oven.

    Also you need hours to prepare the meals and of course the wine has to be at the right temperature. To try out those recipes it’s better to keep your boat tied up in the port, that way it’s possible to do so. The recipes that I’ve created while we were at sea are as cheap as you can find. In the beginning I always used my steam cooker but I found that it’s too heavy and too difficult to handle at sea and since my recipes are fast cooking meals, I don’t need to use it.

    All the ingredients that I use could be found aboard almost every sailboat.


    Rice & canned tuna
    .

    If you are a lucky fisherman then this recipe can be even cheaper. It will take about twenty minutes to prepare. For this one you need 200gr of rice, a can of tuna, the size depends on what you have handy, two large onions, a can of crushed tomatoes, salt and pepper, a chicken cube if you have some aboard and dried parsley, I use a lot because we like it. Fry some onions in a little bit of oil or butter, add a can of crushed tomatoes, a chicken cube, a can of tuna, salt, pepper, add the rice and fry for about two minutes. Add enough water to cook the rice and leave it to simmer until all the water has been absorbed. You can do this with any kind of canned fish or shellfish.

     

    I have found that the potatoes could last for at least a month, so we always had a lot on board. Fresh vegetables are difficult to keep and most of it goes overboard unless you eat it all within three or four days but if you are sea sick for the first few days then there is no way you can finish it before it goes bad. I never keep fresh eggs longer than a week even though I heard it could be kept for a longer period if it’s protected with Vaseline.


    Vegetables & smoked canned sausage.

    This is a meal that you throw all the vegetables that will go bad soon into the pot instead of overboard. You need a can of sausage, if you like you can add more than one can, salt and pepper, dried bacon and some oil or butter. Chop the vegetables and stir-fry slightly, add the sausage and continue to fry for another five minutes. You can add some dry bacon if you have any and even if you don’t it’s delicious
    anyway. Add some salt and pepper, cover the vegetables with enough water to cook it until it’s tender and all the water has been evaporated. If you don’t have a lot if time to spare on your cooking, you can leave some liquid and it’s just as good. This takes about twenty-five minutes to prepare.

     

    Macaroni in béchamel sauce and canned salmon.

    You need 200g of macaroni, a can of salmon, dried parsley, salt and pepper, Parmesan and béchamel sauce. Boil the macaroni until tender, I always try to find the ones that cook very fast. You can make your own béchamel but why bother when you can find it in the form of powder and all you have to do is
    add water. Bring your sauce to a boil, you can add some Parmesan if you like, add some dry parsley, salt and pepper. Add the salmon and the sauce to the macaroni and mix it, if you like you can add some butter, you can also put it in the oven for another ten minutes. This takes about twenty-five minutes to prepare.

     

    Corned beef could be found in any part of the world too and at sea it could be very delicious.


    Corned beef hash
    .

    You need five large potatoes, two large onions, salt, pepper and garlic if you like it. Cut the potatoes in small cubes, that way it will cook faster. To avoid using oil, I add the corned beef and onions together and the onions are cooked in the grease that comes out of the corned beef. Fry until the onions are tender, then add the potatoes, cook until the potatoes are tender and drain off all the excess grease.

     

    Before we went off to sea I had no idea how to make bread, so we bought a lot of that special bread which was supposed to last for three to four weeks. In less than a week it was all green! So, I started fooling around with flour and yeast and to my surprise I came up with bread. With the tips collected later on from other boats, my bread is now very good. So actually, making bread at sea is not difficult at all and you don’t even need to have an oven.

    The oven on our boat is very small and there is no way that I can make a bread in it, big enough to last for two or three days. I make my bread in a cast iron frying pan.


    For the bread you need: 400 gr. of flour, if you like you can mix 100gr of whole meal flour and 300 gr. of normal white flour. One tablespoon of sugar, one teaspoon of salt and one tablespoon of dried yeast. You also need a bit less than half a litre of water which must be at room temperature. Mix everything together in a large bowl for fifteen to twenty minutes. Cover it with a piece of plastic film or a kitchen towel and leave it until it has doubled in size, this takes about 45 minutes. If that does not happen then you did something wrong but don’t give up because it’s a great pleasure to have the smell of fresh bread at sea. If you plan to make your bread in a frying pan like I do then you need to have a deep pan so that the bread can rise. You also need to have something to cover the flame because you should not place the pan on the naked flame. After the dough has doubled in size, mix it again for another five mins, make the form of bread that you want and leave it to raise for another 30mins. To avoid that the bread falls I put it directly in the pan in which it’s going to be baked. When it’s ready, all you have to do is put it on the stove. Do not butter the pan, just flour it slightly. The baking time is about 40 minutes on a low fire but not too low, you have to adjust it until you find the right temperature. To bake the bread you have to cover the pan with another frying pan but make sure that there is space for the bread to raise. Bake for about twenty minutes on each side, if you have the right temperature you will have a nice golden brown bread. All of this takes a long time but it’s worth it.

    Mostly I make my bread while I’m on watch.

     

    So, even on a small budget you can eat well at sea but it’s necessary to have a few ideas so that you don’t become bored eating out of cans. Of course there are days when the weather is no good or when I’m not in a good mood because there is a problem to get our Taylor’s stove going that we find that eating out of cans is not so bad at all. There are many more recipes but if you are crossing the Atlantic in three weeks then you can repeat the same meals or try to invent some more. It’s a very good hobby at sea but of course a nice big steak is always welcome too.

    Dried ham is very good to have on board too but you have to make sure that it’s really dry if not it will become green very fast. It also make’s a very good snack when on watch at night instead of chocolate and other stuff. De one that we bought lasted one and a half month without any problem, I just kept it wrapped up in a kitchen towel.

    Anyway, cooking is not the only job on board, there is always something to do. Before we left for our trip I had no Idea what it would have been like except what I read in books. I was surprised because what I read in the books and the pictures that I saw of women in their swimming suits laying on the deck while they were at sea, well I’m still waiting to have a chance to do so. Not that I need a tan but just to do like everybody does, at least in the books.

    Talking about books, even if you don’t read a lot you will find that reading while on watch helps the time to go by very fast and it also helps you to stay awake. I love reading, during my watch I spend a lot of time doing so, sometimes one book per day. There is also the flying fish that could keep you awake especially if it lands on your head like it happened to me. Just imagine the shock, sitting all alone in the cockpit on a dark night in open sea and suddenly something bangs you in your head, or suddenly a tired bird falls on your head, it may sound funny but it’s true.

    At sea you need to have enough sleep because tiredness could be a big enemy in a couple even if you have the best relationship. In the beginning it was very difficult for us because there was a lack of sleep. We tried to keep watch two hours at a time but it was too short for the one that went to sleep. Then we tried four hours but it was too long for the one who was on watch. We finally made it with three hours and it works great for us. Sailing is probably not what many women would choose to do on their own but since that’s what the husband or boy friend chose, then some women follow or quit. I met my husband when he had the idea to build the boat, I followed him, we built the boat together, we went off to sea together, we are still together and we plan to stay together. Due to my husband’s job we travel all over the world and we like it but it’s not the same like when we are on vacation, we don’t choose the countries, we just go. Travelling with our boat is different we can choose where we want to go.

    At the moment we are preparing a new project which should be ready for the summer 2001.

    We have decided to quit and live our lives the way we choose to. It’s maybe a crazy project to quit a good paying job and start it all over again but life is short and we hope to live it to a maximum.

    Leaving all the stress behind us is something that we are really looking forward to.

    Our site will be updated during our trip.

    – from http://members.tripod.com/sailyacht/ladyuk/acrosoce.htm


  • The San Juan Islands

    I
    f you’re looking for someplace new to explore by sailboat, a friend of mine spent two weeks sailing in and around the San Juan Islands with family, and loved it. From what I was told, the islands are mostly uninhabited, so you can drop anchor anywhere in the islands and go ashore to explore. This area is mostly known for their orcas, so you may see some when sailing there. Matt sez he sailed there with his brother not so long ago, and saw lots of seals, but no killer whales.




  • The 4th of July

    H
    appy Fourth of July! It probably wouldn’t be wise to use fresh vodka bottles to launch your Whistling Moon Travelers today!

    I have a choice to either study for a major exam or crew for someone at Nationals in Virginia. Ergh. Studying. Or SAILING. Damn. Lovely choices. Oh well, there will be other Nationals.

    I had the most lovely dream that I took my boat out to some place off the coast of Western Thailand. So it was like a mini-vacation. Matt took out a windsurfboard, too. Sailing vacations are only in my dreams. Back to the books!