Month: April 2005

  • Physician, Sail Thyself

    On the way to work, I cannot listen to Alanis Morissette’s “Not the Doctor” anymore without feeling a little hypocritical. And that’s a weird feeling. But after 5 PM (unless I’m on call), I am not a doctor, anymore. I wear my hair in pigtails and I put on my cut-up jean shorts. I probably resemble my patients more than any of their physicians, at that point.

    On Friday, I saw one of the neurologists outside of the hospital. He was in a big, black trenchcoat, and had his hair slicked back like Nicholas Cage. I did not recognize him at all. He looked like a psychiatry patient I’d had once. Or one of the losers who sits on the sidewalks in Berkeley asking for spare change for pot.

    Sometimes I get a little uncomfortable shopping, because I really just don’t want to run into my patients. When I’m not working, I am not working. But, I guess, people expect us to give advice 24 hours a day. It gets just a little boring to come home after a long day of asking people about bowel movements, to have a friend ask you about hers.

    I just don’t wanna know. Okay?

    But it does make me appreciate my father’s choice in friends. I used to think he was kind of elitist, only hanging out with other physicians. But now I understand his avoidance of non-medical people. A fellow physician understands that ya really just don’t talk shop when you’re off duty. Banana bread recipes or new puppies, yes. Deep vein thromboses or West Nile, no.

    I really admire these two women in Turkey, who are building their own sailboat.

    “These are the first wievs of our pirat after we moved our workshop to a seaside place in izmir. As you see our working environment is really nice with a closed roof and everywhere green :) . . . . We are working on the final works just before covering the bottom of the hull. Those take a bit more time than we expected and time flies away when we begin working on the boat. . . . We are working on the thin wood sticks forming the cage of the hull, gluing is complete and we are sanding them to give a better form and ability to match the final covering plywoods.”

  • The Road Not Taken

    Robert Frost, on his oft-misinterpreted “The Road Not Taken”: “No wonder you were a little puzzled over the end of my Road Not Taken. It was my rather private jest at the expense of those who might think I would yet live to be sorry for the way I had taken in life. I suppose I was gently teasing them. I’m not really a very regretful person….”, and: “I wasn’t thinking about myself there, but about a friend…,a person who, whichever road he went, would be sorry he didn’t go the other. He was hard on himself that way.” (In other words, we create these little dramas about choices which aren’t nearly as important as we often imagine them to be.)

    There are some people who seem hell-bent on being unhappy in life. If there isn’t one thing to complain about, they’ll find another thing to complain about. That’s fine with me, but I just wish they’d stay the heck away from me. I happen to like my life, and although every now and then, I get a little irritated with people, for the most part I am with some pretty wonderful people daily.

    There are just a select number of people who daily complain about the company they choose to keep.

    In a world full of billions of people, you’d think they’d have no trouble walking away, and finding some people to hang out with who are already like them, instead of becoming petulant that others are not changing to their specifications.


    Azul es el cielo,
    Azul es el mar.
    Azul es el barquito
    Que te voy a dar.


    Rhodes 22

    “One of the great designs of all time. The classic has one of the largest cockpits you’ve ever seen — over 8-1/2 feet long. With its long fixed keel, large inboard rudder, low aspect sail plan, this boat is stiff,
    stable and sails very well. Over 3000 were built.

    This is the ideal get-started / budget boat for day sailing, overnighting and family fun. You can learn to sail, learn boatkeeping and get started on this timeless honey.”