Month: February 2008

  • I’m Suffering

    For some reason, lately, every time I turn on the radio, some news
    reporter is telling me how much the American economy is suffering.

    For example, I am told that the
    housing market is terrible and that I am struggling to sell my house.

    Maybe they’re referring to the sellers of the
    house I bought, who had it on the market all of two days before I snapped it
    up.  (I had to make a bid quickly,
    because houses are selling like wildfire where I live.  The last house we bid on, we lost the
    bid.  Oh well!  My current house is better anyway!)

    They are telling me that gas
    prices are higher than ever before.  I haven’t noticed, as I live 3
    minutes from my workplace, and the last time I had to buy gas was over a week
    ago.

    If this is a “suffering” bring it on, baby!

    Today, I have a job doing something that I really love.  We just bought a new house.  And I’ve been happily married to one kick-ass husband for. .
    . Wow! over 5 years now. Has it been that long?

    I really don’t care for people who tell me that I’m just lucky — the jealous
    ones who think that others get all the breaks. Lord knows, I’ve had my share of
    poop from people, and I know that at any point, poop can happen again. But it’s
    nice to be in a place I love again. It’s especially nice to know that my hard
    work was not for naught.

    God really does help those who help themselves. And when I mean God, I mean all
    the people who believed in me, and gave me a chance when they could have just
    as easily turned me away. It’s truly Divine when people can see something in
    you that is yet to be.

    I find it foreign that American-born citizens have been taught to believe that
    everyone in other countries hates the United States. If that were the case, then
    I wonder why my relatives haven’t gone back to their respective countries. Or
    why my friends from Poland, Cuba, India, Bulgaria, Japan, China, Singapore,
    Taiwan, Korea, Vietnam, the former U.S.S.R., and even France (I could go on and
    on), don’t feel the need to return to their countries.

    My voice may not be very loud, but I felt it had to be said.

    The only people I see hating the U.S. are people who have something to gain by
    saying that the country is in ruin, and that they can make it better.

    Politicians don’t make a country better.

    Its people do.

  • Audaces Fortuna Juvat


    Excerpt from David Vann’s “I Do Not Have a Death Wish”
    from http://www.esquire.com/features/sailing1207

    “Offshore yacht racing is still an aristocratic sport, but I think a low-budget attempt on a homemade boat is possible. . . .

    . . . I’m building this time in my carport and backyard in Tallahassee,
    Florida. I began in mid-August. I bought some steel tubing, which I
    welded into a platform fifty feet long and five feet wide. I cut all
    the aluminum plates with a forty-dollar circular saw from Home Depot,
    using a four-dollar wood blade with carbide tips. I bought a welder and
    spool gun for $2,000, a chop saw for $90, a grinder for $70, and a
    backup grinder for $30. A few clamps, pliers, measuring tapes, and
    pens, and that was it.”

    Few things annoy me
    more than people who tell me that something cannot be done.
     Usually those cynics are armchair warriors — ones that haven’t even attempted anything beyond going to the mall to buy clothes.  If someone tells me that something cannot be done, they’d better have the credentials to back their critique.  Or at the very least, have done something more with their lives than to have smoked one too many hookahs to come up with their profound philosophies of life.


    “It
    is not the critic who counts, not the man who points out how the
    strong man stumbled, or where the doer of deeds could have done better.
    The credit belongs to the man who is actually in the arena; whose face
    is marred by the dust and sweat and blood; who strives valiantly; who
    errs and comes short again and again; who knows the great enthusiasms,
    the great devotions and spends himself in a worthy course; who at the
    best, knows in the end the triumph of high achievement, and who, at
    worst, if he fails, at least fails while daring greatly; so that his
    place shall never be with those cold and timid souls who know neither
    victory or defeat.”

    Theodore
    Roosevelt
    (Paris Sorbonne,
    1910)

  • Heavy Mettle

    While the nightly news continues to report about the “writer strike” and the latest drug-addicted popstars, some people are actually doing something I give a toot about with their lives.

    I’ve been pretty busy in the hospital lately, but I had some time to check on Heather’s ship log, and was surprised to find that she’s delayed her trip.

    Below is an excerpt from her ship’s log at http://www.solo-sailor.com/ShipLog.htm.  I appreciate her honesty about what happened on her trip, as sailing experiences are always something from which one can learn so that one need not always be a guinea pig.  For example, I know now to make it a point to ban those sliding latches on any part of my boats.

    Matt was impressed by her actions, saying, “It’s situations like these that show you what you’re made of.  [his poor grammar, not mine] You can’t have a tool for every situation, but if you can take one tool and find your way to safety, then you know you’ve got brains.”  I agree.

    Oh, and by the way, I’ve never been seasick to the point of vomiting.  But, I have never been sailing in 15-foot waves, either!  (Note to self:  Always do a three-day shakedown cruise before setting off on a longer bluewater trip, if only to get one’s sealegs.)


    Excerpt from Heather’s ship log — The Flight of Years
    at http://www.solo-sailor.com/ShipLog.htm

    “. . . The first few hours were uneventful; I can’t say that I remember much after leaving the channel, except that it was terribly cold, the sailing was good, I was happy to be on my way, and I put miles in my wake.  Late in the afternoon I started feeling queasy, which isn’t unusual if I haven’t been out steadily…which I hadn’t.  But by early that evening I was violently ill, which was an entirely new experience.   I get a bit green around the gills sometimes, but never sick to the point of vomiting.  But vomit, I did, for two and a half days.

    “The wind and waves kicked up suddenly a little before dusk and I had waited about 15 minutes too long before I took a reef in the main.  I struggled to hold on, my feet slipping out from under me on the wet cabin top, as I put in the reef.  I should have put in two.  “Reef early,” Dad always says.  I would have, but I was busy hurling over the side at the time.  (Not an excuse in his book, by the way.)

    “The seas grew as the sun set and I became sicker than I have ever been in my life.  I threw up over the side, in the sink, in a sack (kinda sounds like a twisted Dr. Seuss rhyme!).  Not wanting to foul the boat, I crawled into the cockpit to lean over the edge and heaved into the rising seas.  I watched as my warm hat, raked off by the lifeline, floated away.  I had no idea until that moment that you could wretch so hard it would burst blood vessels in your nasal passages or that you could throw up through your nose.  Not my best look…no photographs, please.

    “Funny thing, I can remember how beautiful the sunset was.

    “I turned to clamber back into the cabin and found to my great shock I was locked out!  Inside the cabin there’s a common, sliding barrel lock, such as is on public restroom doors everywhere, with which you can lock yourself inside at night; the pitching and rolling of the sea had somehow locked it while I was outside.  By now, the waves were some 8-10 feet, and the winds strong enough to make it difficult to stand upright.

    “I wish I could tell you I was calm about the whole thing; that I handled it bravely and rationally.  But I’d be full of it if I did.  I have to confess, at that moment, as the realization hit that I was deathly ill, incapable of physically tending to my own needs, let alone the needs of the boat, with no phone, no radio, and no way to get in to safety, the seas steadily growing worse, I was scared.  Part of my mind was rational: the boat was hove-to, I was attached to the jackline with my safety harness, I had on my foul weather gear…I could hunker down in the cockpit until it was over and then sail to safety.  I told myself this was nothing…10’ waves and 25-30 knot winds.  Quit being a sissy!

    “The other part of me was scared stupid and HAD to get into the cabin!

    “The only tool in the cockpit was the knife Dad had given me, which I keep with me, and I began trying to force back the lock without success.  Finally, with much prying and jimmying, I was able to break in, but only by greatly damaging the fiberglass, and breaking off a chunk.

    “Once inside, I didn’t go out again.  Twice more in the night, with the tossing of the seas, the hatch again locked itself.  (Note to self: do something about that lock!)  For two days the waves got bigger and the wind got higher and I got sicker and weaker.  I couldn’t make it into the cockpit anymore; my once pristine stainless steel sink is now stained with stomach acid.  I didn’t know that could happen.  It took everything I had to make it from the bunk to the sink, where I would glance at the GPS to make sure I wasn’t being driven to land, and afraid there wouldn’t be anything I could do about it if I were.  Later I learned a nearby buoy reported Force 7 winds (51-62 km/h, 15′ seas).

  • Beijing 2008 Olympics — Sailing

    Beijing is land-locked.  So, I wonder where they will be holding these sailing events.




    Sailing first became an Olympic sport in Paris in 1900,
    where time handicaps were used to adjudicate the race. The race format and the
    classes of competing boats have changed frequently since then. Olympic racing
    is now conducted with boats categorised into one-design classes based on
    similar weights and measurements.

    http://en.beijing2008.cn/cptvenues/sports/sailing/