Month: June 2012

  • Four Years Ago

    Four years ago, I did some kind of mission statement. My goal was that I would be operating a sailing clinic in two years. Then, of course, life intervened. Mainly I got pregnant. And delivered a baby. And then most recently, I re-established some goals, one of which was to sail in the 2013 Transpac. And then I got pregnant again.

    I’m getting pretty good at getting pregnant. Not so much at obtaining a cruising sailboat worthy of setting up a clinic. I console myself that I am making excellent new crew members.

    I adore my kids. I am looking more and more into setting sail again. Land is offering less and less for us in terms of opportunities for growth. And I struggle with the idea that my kids are going to grow up in an educational system that I can visibly see is failing.

    So, as usual, I’m making yet another mission statement.

    In the coming year, I plan to do the following:

    1. Deliver yet another healthy kiddo.
    2. Find and re-fit a sailboat.
    3. Get rid of land-based investments.
    4. Leave.