June 21, 2003

  • To Hike or Not to Hike

    A
    fter work yesterday, we rushed to the lake to go sailing. Because of time constraints, we chose a nearby agricultural lake as it’s only 15 minutes away. The water is so scuzzy from farm run-off phosphates and nitrates that when you take your boat out afterwards, there is a brown line of scum where the waterline was. But you can sail on it, and that’s all that matters to me. (I’m just glad we didn’t capsize in it.)

    Matt is getting really good. I’m so happy for him. I think the sailing bug has bitten him too, because he wants to take the racing dinghy (read: “capsizable”) out on the bigger lake next week. I hope he still likes sailing once we’ve capsized.

    I offered him a beachside capsize-lesson, but he says he’d rather not have a lesson at all. My first capsize lesson was in the middle of the lake too. I had no time to be afraid or be shocked. It was either “right the boat” or “wait who-knows-how-many hours for someone to come pick me up”. Thus, my first capsize lesson. Luckily it was in a Sunfish.

    Matt’s still a little bit scared of the wind. He’s so funny to watch. He lets the sheet out everytime there’s a strong blow. He says he doesn’t want to learn to hike out yet because he says he’s “still getting the feel of the sail.” He’s getting there.

    As someone on Xanga mentioned, “I like anything that makes me go faster than I can run or swim.”

Comments (1)

  • What a shame about the scummy water.   I hope you closed your eyes and pretended you were on the Carribean!

    Thanks for the Bday wishes… I had a GREAT day!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *