Month: December 2003

  • Every Woman Should Have

    There’s this quote that goes around, and every now and then a girlfriend sends it to me. I know she means well, but I don’t like it as I don’t agree with a lot of the suggestions for what I, as a woman, should have.

    A WOMAN SHOULD HAVE
    . . .one old love
    she can imagine
    going back to. . .
    and one who reminds
    her how far she has come. . .

    I have one love, and he is all I need. My old “loves” weren’t loves at all, even though they do remind me how far I’ve come. Polyamory may work for some, but I’ve tried it and it doesn’t work for me.

    A WOMAN SHOULD HAVE
    …enough money within her
    control to move out and
    rent a place of her own
    even if she never wants
    to or needs to. . .

    I personally think a woman should be living on her own anyway before she marries a guy, which means she naturally has money under her own control. I never want a guy to control me. Matt and I live as partners.

    A WOMAN SHOULD HAVE
    ..something perfect to wear if
    the employer or date of her dreams
    wants to see her in an hour. . .

    Hell. If someone wants to see me within an hour they better be bleeding or dying. Otherwise, they can wait. I have other things to do besides be at people’s beck and call.

    A WOMAN SHOULD HAVE
    ..a youth she’s content
    to leave behind…

    We all have a youth. I know this is probably one of those, “Don’t regret not doing something when you’re younger” types of things. I have no regrets about my youth. Matt, on the otherhand, tells me stories of plenty of things he regrets doing in his youth.

    A WOMAN SHOULD HAVE
    . . .a past juicy enough that
    she’s looking forward to
    retelling it in her old age. . .

    I already enjoy telling people about things I’ve done. But I certainly didn’t do things simply so I can tell people about them. I do them because they’re fun.

    A WOMAN SHOULD HAVE
    . . .a set of screwdrivers, a
    cordless drill, and a black
    lace bra. . .

    I hate lace. It itches. Might as well be wearing a wool bra. Silk or cotton or nothing at all!

    A WOMAN SHOULD HAVE
    . . .one friend who always makes
    her laugh… and one who lets
    her cry. . .

    I make myself laugh. I definitely can make myself cry.

    A WOMAN SHOULD HAVE
    . . .a good piece of furniture
    not previously owned by anyone
    else in her family. . .

    Yeah, okay, if my mom would stop bequeathing me stuff not previously owned by anyone else in her family, maybe I’d have room.

    A WOMAN SHOULD HAVE
    . . .eight matching plates, wine
    glasses with stems, and a recipe
    for a meal that will make her
    guests feel honored. . .

    I tried having wine glasses with stems. It was a useless venture as my cats promptly knocked them over and spilled grape juice (PURPLE GRAPE JUICE) all over my cream-colored carpet. I don’t cook. I burn.

    A WOMAN SHOULD HAVE
    . . .a feeling of control over
    her destiny. . .

    Some things you cannot control. You can do your best to steer yourself in the right direction though by avoiding crappy people and situations. But some people think they have the right to control other people, and in the end, you cannot force people to think about you in certain ways. They either do, or they don’t.

    EVERY WOMAN SHOULD KNOW. . .
    . . .how to fall in love without
    losing herself. . .

    That I agree with.

    EVERY WOMAN SHOULD KNOW…
    . . .how to quit a job,
    break up with a lover,
    and confront a friend
    without ruining the friendship. . .

    And that too.

    EVERY WOMAN SHOULD KNOW. . .
    . . . when to try harder. . . and
    when to walk away. . .

    And that.

    EVERY WOMAN SHOULD KNOW…
    . . . that she can’t change the
    length of her calves, the width
    of her hips, or the nature of her
    parents. . .

    No, you can change the length of your calves. You can change the width of your hips too. But it’s true you cannot force people to think a certain way.

    And everything else, I agree with.

    EVERY WOMAN SHOULD KNOW…
    . . . that her childhood may not
    have been perfect. . .but its
    over. . .

    EVERY WOMAN SHOULD KNOW. . .
    . . .what she would and wouldn’t
    do for love or more. . .

    EVERY WOMAN SHOULD KNOW. . .
    . .how to live alone. . . even if
    she doesn’t like it. . .

    EVERY WOMAN SHOULD KNOW. . .
    . . .whom she can trust,
    whom she can’t,
    and why she shouldn’t
    take it personally. . .

    EVERY WOMAN SHOULD KNOW. . .
    . . .where to go. . .
    be it to her best friend’s kitchen table. . .
    or a charming inn in the woods. . .
    when her soul needs soothing. . .

    EVERY WOMAN SHOULD KNOW. . .
    . . .what she can and can’t
    accomplish in a day. . .
    a month. . .and a year. . .

    Best Wishes for 2004, folks!

    Matt and I are going to go partay now!

  • Happy Holidays

    What a terrible thing to have a loved one in the hospital during the holidays. And most especially a spouse you’ve been with for years.

    My dad had a stroke on my mom’s birthday, and sometimes she tells me how she really didn’t feel the stress of it until he came home from the hospital. There was no time to feel sorry for herself. No time to feel sad about Dad. She was busy taking care of the house and business in his absence, and making sure he was okay in the hospital, not lonely, not afraid.

    Please pray for all those who are alone this season, who cannot be with family or friends. Widows, widowers, orphans, soldiers, and those who work overseas away from their families.

    Wickgal underwent surgery on December 18, and is currently in a coma. Please pray for her husband, Doo, who although he may not feel it yet, will be enormously relieved for the support he’ll receive later.

    Illness is hard on everyone.

  • Fireworks

    Can’t get away to see any fireworks for New Year’s Eve? Watch and hear the fireworks at the Navy Pier site. A bit repetitive, but kind of cute.


    Navy Pier

  • Reindeer Poop

    My dear friend Chrissy sent me this recipe once. She’s such a sweetheart. She’s quit her job and has a candleshop now, and is much happier for it. I admire her for following her dreams.

    Reindeer Poop Recipe

    1 cup (2 sticks) margarine (not butter!)
    1/2 cup peanut butter (creamy or crunchy)
    heat until JUST melted

    add 1 package (11 individual) graham crackers crushed to powder
    add 1 pound box of powdered sugar
    MIX THOROUGHLY!

    form 1/2 inch balls
    FREEZE TO HARDEN

    melt 2 bags of chocolate chips over LOW HEAT
    drop in balls JUST UNTIL COVERED
    sit on wax paper to cool

  • Amber alert in Illinois: Child abduction

    Some black guy in a sweatshirt with a “G in a diamond” has abducted a little black girl. He is driving a grey Dodge.

  • December 2003

    Chicago Midway Airport

    Chicago’s Midway Airport is really not such a bad airport. It’s kind of hard to find, though. It’s at the corner of 55th St. and Cicero.

    The long term parking there kind of sucks though. Although tickets from Midway are cheap, the economy parking (which is in barely-paved lots that you must use a shuttle to get to and from the airport, unless you like playing Frogger) is $10/day, which is exhorbitant.

    The good thing is the transport to and from the lots is pretty good. There are multiple long term parking lots — Blue Lot, Red Lot, and Yellow Lot — all $10/day. There is also good shuttle service (free) to and from a large number of hotels in Chicago.

    I stayed at the Holiday Inn in Willowbrook which is pretty nice this time of year. Tons of Christmas parties with free food and great dancing music. The parties are so crowded that it’s easy to crash them. The rooms are nice and the heater worked, which was a major plus.

    Santa Claus and his wife were there when I stayed there.


  • December 2003

    Las Vegas, Nevada

    Last year this time, I was getting hitched in Las Vegas. I highly recommend Vegas weddings. I adore my friend Claire, but after being maid of honor at her wedding and seeing all the crap you have to do to plan a wedding, I am really glad Matt and I did it in Vegas.

    Weddings are boring affairs. You are forced to sit for an hour in some church in clothes that are usually too tight, and which you’ll hafta get dry cleaned afterwards. In outdoor weddings, there’s always the chance you’ll get the seat that’s in the sun for the whole hour, after which your neck is sunburned, but not the rest of you. Or as in Claire’s wedding, it’ll start to rain and you’ll be helping people carry chairs inside in your nice dress that you paid $250 for.

    The only good thing about weddings is the reception. Good food, good friends, and partying. I like going to parties. I refuse to throw them.

    When I landed in Vegas, I needed to get to the Stratosphere. As soon as I step out with my suitcase, some guy in a suit offers me a limo. “How much is it?” I ask. “$70,” he says, casually. Like, what the hell do I look like? A fucking movie star? No way am I paying a fucking $70 to get to a hotel.

    “Don’t you guys have a shuttle?”

    “Yeah, to your left.”

    The shuttle costs about $4.50 one way. I bought a round trip ticket.

    The only “downside” is that you stop at a lot of different hotels along the way, but I don’t consider that a downside. It’s really more of a free tour of the city. Plus, I met a really nice lady from Louisiana who told me the story of how she had to take off her knee high boots at security check, which meant she almost had to take off her jeans, since they were covering her boots. Fortunately, she was able to get them off by squishing them to her ankles.

    The pictures above were taken from the balcony of the Venetian hotel, of which one of my high school classmates Jen was part of the architectural team.

    I love the taxi drivers in Vegas. Everyone that I’ve met has always been really nice.

    But to be honest, the cheapest and best way to get around the Strip is. . . the bus. The 301 bus runs up and down the Las Vegas Strip for only $2. Don’t forget to ask the bus driver for a transfer ticket when you get on the bus, because the transfers last about 3 hours.

  • December 2003

    Mount Bonnell — Austin, TX

    The Colorado River runs through Austin, and it runs right by a place called Mount Bonnell. This part of Austin, west of the city, is mostly ROCK. Mount Bonnell is a humongous ROCK.

    Some model purportedly slid down a wire from the top of Mount Bonnell to the River below. That was in the early 1900′s.

    After getting lost and winding up in Mayfield Preserve, we finally found the road that leads to Mount Bonnell. It wasn’t very well marked.

    In the parking lot at the base of Mount Bonnell is a sign warning people that some cars have been broken into while people were hiking on the mountain. Heh. Nothing got stolen from our car. There wasn’t really anything to steal anyway. Jason’s car is a 1980′s Geo Metro (which I like to call Tic Tac). If anyone had bothered to break in, all there was to steal was a couple of empty Coke and Dr. Pepper bottles and a really old cassette tape player. Oh and a briefcase with some titles to some land in Florida in it.




    Some of the houses below us.

  • December 2003

    Austin’s Parks

    As much time as I spent in Austin, you’d think I’d like the place. Jason and I did some hiking about in two of the parks. The youth hostel is actually located next to a riverside park, but we didn’t spend any time in it. You can rent kayaks from the hostel for $10/day (with $100 deposit, which we did NOT have). They also have a sailboat which they use during warmer months, although I didn’t find Austin to be that cold compared to the current weather in the Midwest.

    We attempted, at first, to find Mount Bonnell. But we ended up kind of lost, and found the art museum. We didn’t go to that though. We went to the neighboring Mayfield Preserve.

    The cool thing about Mayfield Preserve is its peacocks. Everywhere! It was like playing “Where’s Waldo” but with peacocks.

    One of the trails is closed due to construction, but we climbed across a creek anyway. ‘Some really nice trails in this itty bitty park.


    Mayfield Preserve overlooks an inlet off the Colorado River.
    Houses with boathouses and docks line the riverside.

  • December 2003

    Austin Youth Hostel

    The Austin Youth Hostel was pretty nice. Not as nice as the ones I’ve stayed at in Kyoto or Chicago, but it was clean and, best of all, located right on the Colorado River.


    Boots the cat is the hostel’s mascot.

    View of the Colorado River from the main room.


    Boots isn’t allowed in the sleeping quarters,
    so she has her own bed by the front desk.