August 6, 2004

  • Punch Cards and Chads

    Punch cards.
    Yesterday, as Matt and I were driving to Cici’s Pizza, to try it out for the first time, I realized on the way how it is that I deal with people.

    People are like punch cards to me.
    Everyone starts out with a full 100%, meaning I can believe they’re normal, sane and good people initially, and for each thing they do to me, I detract points from how favorably I view them, by making a little punch mark in their punch card.

    Other people don’t seem to do that. Matt seems to view people as starfish. They do something unfavorable, and you cut off the arm of the starfish, but given time, it will grow back. Trust grows back for others.

    For me, that doesn’t happen.

    People are punch cards. Once they do something bad to me, there is no turning back. The card is punched. The hole is permanent, and I don’t waste time trying to find the chads to put them back. That’s not my job. I have enough time trying to maintain my own punch card in life. I don’t have time to be prettying up others’ cards.

    The world is so full of people and life is so short, there is no sense in my mind, to waste valuable living time with people who aren’t interested in being good to others.



    http://marinasailing.com/

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *