July 21, 2005

  • Sliding Rock

    Matt and I are eagerly anticipating our upcoming vacation. I’m planning to spend the full 5 days in my swimsuit. I’m laughing because my mom actually wants to come along, which means that, solar-phobic as she is, she is going to need her swimsuit too.

    Tons of people every year die in summer drowning accidents. But like a lemming, I’m happy to take my chances again this year.

    I think some of the stupidest water-related things I’ve done have been

    1. To go down Sliding Rock in North Carolina in the middle of March. (It’s cold enough in the summertime!)

    2. To go sailing in the middle of a tornado watch.

    3. To drink before sailing a boat I’ve never sailed before with a person I’ve never sailed with before.

    4. To accidentally put the boat in forward instead of reverse when trying to dock next to the gas pumps. (It’s a good thing Matt wasn’t there for that one.)

    This state is so full of stuff to do in the summer. I feel like 5 days is not going to be enough for me to go to Schlitterbahn, go tubing down the San Marcos River with my cooler tube of beverages, go sailing on Lake Travis, and still see the Dr. Pepper museum (swimsuit not required).

Comments (1)

  • I hope you have a fantastic trip! I may be a nerd but the Dr. Pepper museum sounds like fun!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *