May 8, 2006

  • Drive-In Movie


    When I lived in Arkansas, we went to a drive-in movie once. It was wretchedly humid (it was Arkansas), and as usual, I was the only one the mosquitoes went for. I couldn’t hear the movie because the speaker was on a cord that you had to hang outside your car, which meant that I either had to suffer through mosquito bite anaphylaxis, or close the damn window and not be able to hear the movie. Needless to say, we left before the end of the movie, which sucked anyway. (It was “The Money Pit”, a movie which I could only appreciate after I bought my first house.)


    Where we live, there is a drive-in – the only place in town that serves deep fried Twinkies, which alone is reason enough to go there. But also, they have drawn me back to the drive-in movie because they broadcast via radio frequencies, so that one doesn’t have to have a speaker pole, nor a speaker box on a cord in order to hear. Nope, at this drive-in, movie sound is limited by how good your car speakers are. And our brand new car has EXCELLENT speakers.


    Gone are the mosquitoes. Texas Plains weather is currently too hot and dry to support mosquito larvae, and for that I’m extremely thankful. Yeah, this drive-in has made me a drive-in believer.




    Superman trailer in the sunset

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *