July 13, 2011

  • Sailing == Sanity

    I ended up just ordering a damn rudder. It’s all fine and good to think about wood-working and restoring and all, but at the end of the day, I just want to go sailing. And, Lord knows, I spend enough of my time taking care of other people, I don’t want to spend my time taking care of my boats if I don’t have to.

    Sailing Quotes from http://www.frugal-mariner.com/Quotes_about_Sailing.html

    “A ship is always referred to as “she” because it costs so much to keep her in paint and powder.” -Adm. Chester Nimitz

    “If you want to build a ship, don’t drum up the men to gather wood,

    divide the work and give orders. Instead,teach them to yearn for the vast and endless sea…” -Antoine de Saint Exupery

    “The desire to build a house is the tired wish of a man content thenceforward with a single anchorage.

    The desire to build a boat is the desire of youth, unwilling yet to accept the idea of a final resting place.” -Arthur Ransome

    “A lot of people ask me if I were shipwrecked, and could only have one book,

    what would it be? I always say ‘How to Build a Boat’” -Stephen Wright

    “A sailing ship is no democracy; you don’t caucus a crew

    as to where you’ll go anymore than you inquire when they’d like to shorten sail.”-Sterling Hayden

    “Bad cooking is responsible for more trouble

    at sea than all other things put together.”- -Thomas Fleming Day

    “The chance for mistakes is about equal to the number of crew squared.” -Ted Turner

    “On life’s vast ocean diversely we sail,
    Reason the card, but passion is the gale.”
    -Alexander Pope, Essay on Man

    “Avoid destructive thinking. Improper negative thoughts sink people. A ship can sail around the world many, many times,

    but just let enough water get into the ship and it will sink. Just so with the human mind.
    Let enough negative thoughts or improper thoughts get into the human mind and the person sinks just like a ship.” -Alfred A. Montapert

    “Some years ago – never mind how long precisely – having little or no money in my purse, and nothing particular to interest me on shore,

    I thought I would sail about a little and see the watery part of the world. It is a way I have of driving off the spleen,
    and regulating the circulation. Whenever I find myself growing grim about the mouth; whenever it is a damp, drizzly November in my soul;
    whenever I find myself involuntarily pausing before coffin warehouses and bringing up the rear of every funeral I meet;
    and especially whenever my hypos get such an upper hand of me, that it requires a strong moral principle to prevent me from deliberately stepping into the street,
    and methodically knocking people’s hats off – then, I account it high time to get to the sea as soon as I can.
    This is my substitute for pistol and ball. With a philosophical flourish Cato throws himself upon his sword; I quietly take to the ship.” – H. Melville

    “He was now convinced that the most valuable sail on board was the diesel.” -Ray Kauffman

    “There are three sorts of people; those who are alive, those who are dead,

    and those who are at sea.” -Old Capstan Chantey attributed to Anacharsis, 6th Century BC

    “Boats, like whiskey, are all good.” -R. D. Culler

    “The wonder is always new that any sane man can be a sailor.” -Ralph Waldo Emerson

    “There is no such thing as bad weather, only bad clothes.” –Norwegian Adage

    “There was a great difference in boats, of course. For a long time I was on a boat that was so slow

    we used to forget what year it was we left port in.” -Mark Twain, Life on the Mississippi

    “The average man will bristle if you say his father was dishonest,

    but he will brag a little if he discovers that his great-grandfather was a pirate. ” -Mark Twain

    “It’s scary to have a 30 foot wave chasing you. If you are steering, you don’t look back.

    The crew looks back for you, and you watch their faces. When they look straight up, then get ready!” -Magnus Olsson

    “If you can’t repair it, maybe it shouldn’t be on board.” -Lin and Larry Pardey

    “I love the sea as one loves a mistress and I long for her when I haven’t seen her for some time.” -Alexandre Dumas

    “It’s not the towering sail, but the unseen wind that moves the ship” -Proverb

    “Cruisers’ plans are written in the sand at low tide” – Unknown

    “When in doubt, let it out.” -Unknown

    “You have no right to own a yacht if you ask that question.” -J. P. Morgan Sr., in answer to a question

    by Henry Clay Pierce on how much it costs to own and run a yacht.

    “The cure for anything is saltwater – sweat, tears, or the sea.” -Isak Dinesen

    “I don’t know who named them swells. There’s nothing swell about them. They should have named them awfuls.”-Hugo Vihlen

    “I loved cruising the coast of Maine . For one thing, it helped me conquer my fear of fog. Not that I have learned

    to feel secure in the fog, but at least I have learned how to grope without panic.” -Herb Payson

    To desire and strive to be of some service to the world, to aim at doing something which shall really increase the happiness and welfare

    and virtue of mankind – this is a choice which is possible for all of us; and surely it is a good haven to sail for.-Henry Van Dyke

    “A boat is always there-you never stop worrying about her whether you are aboard or ashore. She is always a presence in the mind and you’re conscious of her at all times. She may be laid up in some safe berth for the winter or hauled out of the water in a yard, but wherever you may be-at home in your virtuous bed or roistering in some gay spot, a chorus girl on each knee and thick air with flying champagne corks-a part of your consciousness is always reserved. When the winds round the eaves of the house it has a special significance, and you check off in your mind, one by one, the possible sources of danger. Men lie awake worrying about their bank balances, their waistlines, their wives, their mistresses actual or potential; but sailors worry about boats.” -Frank Mulville

    “I cannot not sail.” -E. B. White

    “If a man is to be obsessed by something, I suppose a boat is as good as anything,

    perhaps a bit better than most.” -E. B. White

    “The lovely thing about cruising is that planning usually turns out to be of little use.” -Dom Degnon

    “Only two sailors, in my experience, never ran aground. One never left port

    and the other was an atrocious liar.” -Don Bamford

    “Being hove to in a long gale is the most boring way of being terrified I know.”-Donald Hamilton

    “Don’t worry about the world ending today. It’s already tomorrow in Fiji.” -Daria Blackwell

    “If you don’t have deck leaks, how do you know where to store your buckets?” -Captain Larry

    “Every so often I am compelled to go and check to see if the ocean is still there.

    Frequently, if someone else hasn’t done it to my satisfaction,
    I will venture out in my boat to check on the horizon.” -Captain Larry

    “Land was created to provide a place for boats to visit.” -Brooks Atkinson


Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *