Month: June 2006

  • More Courage Than Most


    In Flanders Fields

    In Flanders fields the poppies blow
    Between the crosses, row on row
    That mark our place; and in the sky
    The larks, still bravely singing, fly
    Scarce heard amid the guns below.

    We are the Dead. Short days ago
    We lived, felt dawn, saw sunset glow,
    Loved and were loved, and now we lie
    In Flanders fields.

    Take up our quarrel with the foe:
    To you from failing hands we throw
    The torch; be yours to hold it high.
    If ye break faith with us who die
    We shall not sleep, though poppies grow
    In Flanders fields.


  • Patriotism

    Breathes there the man, with soul so dead,

    Who never to himself hath said,

    “This is my own, my native land!”

    Whose heart hath ne’er within him burned,

    As home his footsteps he hath turned,

    From wandering on a foreign strand!

    If such there breathe, go, mark him well;

    For him no Minstrel raptures swell;

    High though his titles, proud his name,

    Boundless his wealth as wish can claim;

    Despite those titles, power, and pelf,

    The wretch, concentred all in self,

    Living, shall forfeit fair renown,

    And, doubly dying, shall go down

    To the vile dust, from whence he sprung,

    Unwept, unhonoured, and unsung.

    - Sir Walter Scott

  • Love

    Last time I went overseas was in 1999.  I decided to take a vacation, against my graduate advisor’s wishes, to visit my grandmother and my great-grandmother.  I’m glad I went, because a few years after my last visit, my grandmother and my great-grandmother died.

    Everytime I go overseas, I am always appreciative of coming back to the United States.  Invariably, whenever I return home, I spend a few weeks pooping out roundworms, and then the diarrhea resolves.  I’ve yet to acquire malaria when going there, but part of that luck may be that my relatives were smart enough to keep me from going to the heavily wooded rural areas.

    I now live in the same state as a supposedly-American “country” singer.  Differences between us include the following:

    • She is white.  I am not white.
    • If she were to go to China, she would be treated royally.  When I visited China, my Hong Kong-born friends were harrassed.  They even had to bribe train station guards to let them leave the country, despite the fact that they had legal passports to travel freely.
    • She is famous.  I am not famous.
    • She hates the way she is treated in America.  I love where I live.

    I suspect North Koreans love where they live too. The following excerpt from a photoblog of North Korea demonstrates this intense, unwavering love for a leader.

    “. . . Me and the Great Leader. You have to make sure photos are taken of the front of the statue only and that the full body is in the shot to avoid causing offence. Our guide actually checked my digital camera after the shot was taken to make sure. . . .”

    (from http://www.skyscrapercity.com/showthread.php?t=200578)

    Many people are ragging on a new country song.  I think it’s an okay song.  I’m a little surprised at how it seems to support some of the things she appears to be against.   I post it below so that you can read the lyrics and decide for yourself.

    Not Ready to Make Nice

    Forgive, sounds good
    Forget, I’m not sure I could
    They say time heals everything
    But I’m still waiting

     

    I’m through with doubt
    There’s nothing left for me to figure out
    I’ve paid a price


    And I’ll keep paying

    I’m not ready to make nice
    I’m not ready to back down
    I’m still mad as hell and
    I don’t have time to go round and round and round

    It’s too late to make it right
    I probably wouldn’t if I could
    ‘Cause I’m mad as hell
    Can’t bring myself to do what it is you think I should


    I know you said
    Can’t you just get over it


    It turned my whole world around
    And I kind of like it


    I made my bed and I sleep like a baby
    With no regrets and I don’t mind sayin’
    It’s a sad sad story when a mother will teach her
    Daughter that she ought to hate a perfect stranger


    And how in the world can the words that I said
    Send somebody so over the edge


    That they’d write me a letter
    Sayin’ that I better shut up and sing
    Or my life will be over


    I’m not ready to make nice
    I’m not ready to back down
    I’m still mad as hell and
    I don’t have time to go round and round and round

    It’s too late to make it right
    I probably wouldn’t if I could
    ‘Cause I’m mad as hell
    Can’t bring myself to do what it is you think I should

    I’m not ready to make nice
    I’m not ready to back down
    I’m still mad as hell and
    I don’t have time to go round and round and round

    It’s too late to make it right
    I probably wouldn’t if I could
    ‘Cause I’m mad as hell
    Can’t bring myself to do what it is you think I should


    Forgive, sounds good
    Forget, I’m not sure I could
    They say time heals everything
    But I’m still waiting


    Let me guess. . . . Natalie Maines feels persecuted. Feelings of persecution are listed in the DSM-IV as one of the criteria for schizophrenia.

    I guess I’m supposed to feel sorry for her.

    Well, Ms. Maines, “Can’t bring myself to do what it is you think I should.”

  • Crash and Burn


    Emeryville is where I fell in love with the idea of owning a sailboat. All those empty dangerous lots, great for setting up a meth lab in. That’s where my ex-boyfriend’s mom housed the all-wood sailboat she was rennovating.  I associate another thing with Emeryville — Pixar.


    I had planned to study tonight, but Matt convinced me to go to the movies and see “Cars.”  I don’t normally review movies. But this one. . . I feel I must. review. this. movie.







    1. I was a little surprised and hurt when the main character yells, “Hillybilly Hell!” Not to mention that this is a children’s movie. It was the only inappropriate word in the movie. I’m a hillbilly. My dad is a hillbilly. And although Southern Thailand is socially and politically corrupt and I wouldn’t want to live there, I hardly consider it hell.


    2. I really did not think it was appropriate to show someone racing to beat a train at a railroad intersection. If it were a Bugs Bunny cartoon, you know he wouldn’t have won.


    3. I really could have done without the main female character giving a lecture about how awful it is that people built an Interstate to get from Point A to Point B quicker. The truth about Route 66 is that it helped truckers to get their loads from one place to another. The Interstate allowed them to make their deadlines quicker and come home and be with their families sooner. Sorry to disappoint all those who feel that truckers should be forced to drive Route 66 so that they could make stops at all the tourist attractions along the way because people are nostalgic about the danger of passing slow drivers on a two-lane highway. . . .


    4. I lived in the country all of 18 years before I went to college. And I never saw anyone cow-tipping. MUDDING, yes. Cow-tipping, no. I was very disappointed when they did not go mudding.


    5. I adored the visuals. They captured the vistas so well, certainly it wasn’t animation. But if it was, wow!


    Another thing that peeved me was a trailer for a movie that seemed to want me to feel sympathetic for ants.

  • Sail Fit

    I honestly believe that people with even a drop of creativity and an ounce of motivation can find a niche in the world, and from that make a life that they’ve been dreaming of living.  Thanks to my alma mater, I discovered a website of a couple who did just that.  It’s marvelous to be your own boss.  In addition, he has made his own exercise equipment, specifically for competitive sailors.


    Excerpts from “The SAILFIT Story” written by Kurt Taulbee
    from http://www.sailfit.com/story.html

    SAILFIT Inc. is now 8 years old having been originally incorporated under
    the name of Great White Performance Racing. The idea for the business
    came when I saw the difficulty sailors were having in moving their boats
    from one regatta to the next. Some would not attend certain regattas because
    they did not have a decent boat available to them. It was quite a dilemma
    for these sailors.

    I
    had just finished a West Coast tour of sailing events when I decided that
    I really wanted to pursue this sport and see what I could do if I focused
    on sailing full-time. I knew it would take years to become an internationally
    known, high caliber Laser Sailor. I also knew that no one would pay the
    expenses in this dream of mine except me. So I started a business that
    chartered and transported Laser sailboats and sold parts. I saw a need
    for this service and I wanted to compete in the events as part of my campaign
    exposure anyway. So it was a natural. I would travel to the events with
    extra boats and equipment.  Other sailors that had travel or boat issues
    could simply fly in and pay to charter a boat. . . .

    . . . Additionally, I was incredibly fortunate
    to be joined by Meka Aiken in August 2000. She is the one who has really
    built up our fitness services, allowing me to focus on the sailing.

    Meka is the main contact for SAILFIT responding to the requests for charters
    as well as sales and all fitness-related issues. She does all the accounting,
    banking and advertising and generally keeps things moving forward. At
    regattas she helps me stay on a good fitness program, prepares my nutrition,
    and helps me keep a cool head when things get tough.

    Meka studied hard for the ACE exam, became certified and then started
    generating interest in our Fitness programs. At the moment, she has about
    eight clients each on a six-month program. Meka is really a pioneer in
    her approach because her knowledge of nutrition is much better than anyone
    else in the industry. Her understanding of how to achieve success makes
    her unrivalled. . . .


    His wife Meka Taulbee wrote a nice article about being mentally fit to sail.  But really, she is describing being mentally fit for living life.

     

  • Screenings

    Part of the joy of having a waiting room is screening kids’ books and toys for it. So, I have an excuse to wade into the children’s section of the bookstore! I haven’t found really engrossing children’s books for a long time, but a few weeks ago, I found one that actually wasn’t half bad!

    The Giant Rat of Sumatra
    by Sid Fleischman

    I’m a sucker for a sailboat. Unfortunately, this book (although it has a ship on the cover) has hardly anything about sailing. And although the title contains Sumatra, the story doesn’t take place anywhere near Sumatra.

    It’s still a nice book. It will go nicely in my waiting room.

  • Pirates of the Caribbean Revisited

    I rescind my comment
    about yet another Pirates of the Caribbean movie, as it be possible
    there is a junk sailboat in the second
    sequel
    .

    And speaking of boat building. . .
    I am truly impressed with the work on the set.

    Okay, so I completely
    and utterly retract my comment about the series.  I am amazed
    that people would go through the trouble (in this day and age of
    computer animation) to actually build a seaworthy ship-set for the
    movie.

    I’m laughing because the people who made this
    wonderful website of pictures are asking me to donate money for seeing
    pictures of actors and actresses. . . . Golly, I don’t need that
    encouragement.  I came to their website for the ships.  However, the
    donations go to the children who live at the site in which
    they are filming (in the Bahamas).  A noble cause.

    A snippet from their website. . .


    . . . Below we
    are providing you with photos of these wonderful folks in attendance. Not everyone
    who contributed was able to attend but we assure you that everyone that could
    did take part in this effort. If it touches you & you enjoy the photos why
    not send off a little something to benefit the children either by mailing your
    cheque payable to the “Salvation Army” with a note to use for the
    children of the hurricane-affected settlements and mail to P.O. Box F-44387,
    Freeport, Grand Bahama Island, The Bahamas (there is no zip code) Remember many
    children have nothing left after tidal surges took all their belongers out to
    sea from Wilma. Or Payable to “The Grand Bahama Children’s Home” and
    mail to Bahamas Vacation Guide, P.O. Box F-43652, Freeport, Grand Bahama Island,
    The Bahamas (there is no zip code).

    from http://www.the-bahama-islands.com/piratesofcaribbean.html

  • Every Now And Then. . . .

    Sometimes I do a little bit of housecleaning. This site is really meant to keep track of all the wonderful sites I find about sailboats and boat-building in general. So, just as a reminder. . . if you see a post go missing, it was probably because I deleted it, in order to conserve space for what I consider to be the truly important items in my life.

    I enjoy posting only about sailing and sailboat topics, online.  I hold no delusions that Xanga, Blogspot, LiveJournal, MySpace, or even Google (working with all of the above) care about my day to day life in online articles.  Neither do the people I love and care about (cuz they talk to me every day and have no need to read about me online).

    I do know, however, that my bits and pieces of text are very interesting to trackers that want to sell me crap.  It’s sad to me, though, that spiders and such don’t really care about my actual viewpoints about the sailing-related things they are trying to sell me so much as the words I use.

    If they actually bothered to read opinions, they’d know that I don’t think Johnny Depp is cute.  I could do without another “Pirates of the Caribbean” movie.  I think Danielle Steele’s book with the sailboat on the cover is a lame excuse for a sailing novel.  And that I think that Jack Black should play the main character in a movie adaptation of The Boat Who Wouldn’t Float.


    “. . . never underestimate the power of the eyebrow.”
    – Jack Black

  • Time is Money

    Matt and I live outside of town in a canyon. The other day, someone came by to see us, and they asked, “How do you like it, living out here?” The implication is that we live pretty far out into the country.

    Honestly, I timed it. I live no farther than the people in the newest suburbs on the other side of the city. It takes the same amount of time to get to work, only I have less stop lights to go through (only 3, and only once I hit town), and much less traffic.

    Gas prices here have gone up, but it really doesn’t put a dent in my schedule. (It’s $2.79/gallon at most places.) In fact, someone did a nice calculation about how much one can save by buying a new “energy efficient” car.

    I remember going to a Chinese restaurant with my high school boyfriend, and you know how these days, fortune cookies don’t give fortunes. They give one-liner Confucius-like advice. Well, his “fortune” said this:

    Dissatisfaction is the mother of invention.

    He said, “This is stupid,” and threw it away.  That was 16 years ago.  He still lives in an apartment, working a minimum wage job.  He was right.  Dissatisfaction with his “fortune” didn’t make him an inventor.

    One of Matt’s friends had a brilliant idea. “The government should tax gas. That will encourage people to find alternative sources of energy.”  Ahh-well. . . Sorry to burst your bubble, but gas is already taxed, in some states more than others. California, as an example, has much higher gas prices than most other states because of government taxation, which believes exactly as Matt’s dear friend believes. And yet, I don’t see an impetus for either making shorter commutes, nor for making alternative energy cars.

    A good friend of mine is involved in making an electric car in Seattle. He gets no funding from the government. This is something he does in his spare time.

    Taxation will not cause people to want to make cars. Government funding will not cause people to want to make cars. (How many useful things came out of my graduate school program? One patent for a gene product, in one faculty member’s lab.) Being intelligent and curious enough to make cars, plus the possibility that you might make money on them (aka “capitalism”), causes people to want to make cars.

    That said, back in November of 2004, I read an ignorant person’s article about how people in Middle America use more gas to get to work than people on the Coast.

    Top 100 Cities With the Longest Commute
    (I’m surprised Austin is not on this list. My neighbor said to me that she loved living in Austin, but the traffic has become terrible.  We agreed that it’s due to the influx of West Coast expatriates.)

    Top 100 Cities with the Shortest Commute
    (Sorry, people, but I would *not* want to live in Tucumcari, New Mexico, even if I could teleport to work.)