August 11, 2011

  • Sailing Solo

    So, my sailboat is just about ready for its first shakedown sail of the year.  I am a member of a local sailing forum, and someone asked if anyone needed crew this weekend.  People are always happy to let me crew, and I figure, I should pay the favor back.  So, I told this guy, “You can join me.”

    That was the other day.  Well, yesterday, I told my husband about it, and he goes, “Do you know this person?”

    Well, no.

    “Then, how do you know he’s not a freak show?”

    “Because he posted that he sailed 420′s and he wants to get back into racing.”

    “Anyone who posts that they’re into sailing on a forum is a freak show.”

    “Does that mean *I’m* a freak show?”

    “You’re the exception.”

    Thanks, Matt.

    Anyway, so he finally loosened up about it.  I told him, we’re taking separate cars.  And he’d better be nice to me, because *I* am the one supplying the boat.  Still, it’s a recurring problem for me.  Sailing with guys.  ‘Truth is, there just aren’t a lot of women sailors in my area.  I’ve tried looking, believe me!  Currently, there are women who sail, in this particular local sailing club, but they *always* sail with their husbands.  I also don’t think they fancy getting wet, and I really prefer sailing dinghies, rather than cabin boats, so they really wouldn’t like sailing with me anyway.

    It’s a tough call.

    But, the other problem is. . . I really like sailing solo.

    I like the freedom.  No one to criticize my sailing.  No one to blame if something goes wrong.  And frankly, my boat sails better with one person than with two.  That’s just the way it is.  I’ve pondered getting a bigger boat, for when the tyke can sail.  However I’m hoping that, if he even likes sailing at all, he’ll want to sail his own boat, and we can race instead.  Big dreams for a little person.

    So, this weekend, I’m prepared to sail with someone.  Maybe I’ll actually have some fun!

     

Comments (2)

  • WOW sounds like it’s going to be fun!! Does your husband not sail?

  • I know I answered this in a message, but I’ll post my answer here, in case anyone else is wondering. Yes, he sails. I taught him, actually. However, this weekend, we cannot sail together. Someone has to watch the kiddo, because I don’t feel like letting him on the boat until I know the new rudder works well.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *