August 11, 2011

  • Banshee Gooseneck

    One of the notorious problems with Banshees is that the gooseneck will inevitably break.  I’ve seen different kinds of fixes, but recently I saw a novel one that I thought I’d record here, for anyone searching the Internet for gooseneck repair options.

    As I mentioned a few weeks ago, I was shopping for spare parts for my Banshee, and I met a man who was selling one of his.  He had the gooseneck problem, also, and this is how he fixed it:

    0702111406
    The new gooseneck has a pin that inserts into the boom end.

    0702111407
    This is the new end of the boom, with plastic socket for the pin.

    It works, because really, the sail being a unarig, there’s not a whole lot of outhaul pressure on the foot of the sail. So, the socket is really just to keep the boom aligned with the mast.

    It’s a clever solution, and if my gooseneck should break again, I’ll probably implement this fix instead.

    I thought it was kind of funny that the guy who was selling this sailboat ended up joining the sailing club and sailing it last weekend, instead of selling it. When I went to look at his boat, I asked him why he was selling it, and he said, “I’m too old to be sailing.” I told him, “I don’t think so.” If you can walk and move your hand enough to open a door, you can still sail.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *